We have a brand new website under construction, please check back soon!


Syracuse Jewish Family Service at Menorah Park

Hodes Way, 4101 East Genesee St., Syracuse, NY 13214

Telephone: 315-446-9111   Fax: 315-446-1537    Email: info@sjfs.org

Learn more about SJFS! Click HERE to download a brochure!

.

**Coming on January 23, 2017**

First in the Region: Syracuse Jewish Family Service Launches M-Power U., A Learning Community for Early Memory Loss

Syracuse Jewish Family Service at Menorah Park is launching a new program unique to the Central New York region: A social program geared expressly to individuals experiencing mild symptoms of memory problems or diagnosed with mild cognitive impairment or early stage dementia.  M-Power U., A Learning Community for Early Memory Loss will provide a fun, interesting and comfortable way for people to learn and practice ways to:

  • Adopt a brain healthy lifestyle
  • Acquire techniques to help deal with memory loss or other cognitive changes
  • Develop a social and supportive network with others who are dealing with similar issues
  • Obtain information and resources to help manage and cope with current and anticipated needs 

To learn more about becoming a participant or volunteer, please contact Ellen Somers, SJFS Assistant Director, at 315-446-9111, ext. 225, or via email at SomersE@sjfs.orgPlease note that a screening interview and an intake assessment with the individual and his/her care partner are required to enroll in the program.

______________________________________________________________________

Looking for Help?

Try AgeWise Solutions!

AgeWise Solutions has a team of professional geriatric care managers you can trust to be by your side. We will personally guide you and your family through the maze of Medicare, Veterans benefits, home care choices, insurance claims, transportation... well, anything you need to give you peace of mind each day.

 

Call us at (315) 446-9111 x234 TODAY

to see how we can help give you peace of mind TOMORROW 

______________________________________________________________________

Our Mission

Syracuse Jewish Family Service (SJFS) is a not for profit human service agency that is dedicated to helping individuals and families in the Jewish and general communities maximize their self-determination, realize their potential and live with dignity.  Since its incorporation in 1939, SJFS has been guided by the Jewish values of family, community, diversity, respect and autonomy.   The agency promotes these values by identifying community needs, establishing priorities and implementing programs that seek to preserve and strengthen individual and family well-being.  With emphasis on issues relating to aging, SJFS provides human services on site and in community-based locations which include counseling and psychotherapy, CNY PEARLS, Kosher Meals on Wheels, advocacy, psychosocial education, geriatric care management, financial case management and assistance with personal finances, transportation and errand services, volunteer coordination, the BeWell Initiative: Behavioral and Emotional Wellness Empowers Later Life, and the Tachlis of Inclusion and other exceptional needs programming. SJFS is supported by the United Way, the Jewish Federation of CNY, the Onondaga County Department of Aging and Youth, the Reisman Foundation, and many others.




Our Staff and How to Contact Us



Administration Extension
Judith Huober Director 236 HuoberJ@sjfs.org
Ellen Somers, LMHC Assistant Director 225 SomersE@sjfs.org
Peggy Miller, LMSW Internship Coordinator 234 MillerP@sjfs.org
Kristina Vanderwerf Business Manager 196 KVanderwerf@menorahparkofcny.com
General Information 234
       
Care Management
Evelyn Kinsey, MSW Solutions Care Manager 230 KinseyE@sjfs.org
Tessa Wood, LMSW Solutions Care Manager 231 WoodT@sjfs.org
Rob Hoston E.I.S.E.P. Case Manager 229 HostonR@sjfs.org
Kristoff Jaeck E.I.S.E.P. Case Manager 226 JaeckK@sjfs.org
Danielle Schneider E.I.S.E.P. Case Manager 233 SchneiderD@sjfs.org
Deborah Ellis Kosher Meals on Wheels Coordinator 256 EllisD@sjfs.org
       
Community Mental Health, BeWell Initiative
David Donaghy LCSWR Intake Coordinator/Social Worker 227 DonaghyD@sjfs.org
Bertha Jacobs, LCSWR Social Worker 227 JacobsB@sjfs.org
Rosalie Young, LCSWR Social Worker 237 YoungR@sjfs.org
Peggy Miller, LMSW BeWell Initiative Coordinator 234 MillerP@sjfs.org
Larry Crinnin BeWell Program Associate CrinninL@sjfs.org
Gina Davis BeWell Program Associate, M-Power U. 234 DavisG@sjfs.org
Ginai Prosper Clinical Intern 228 ProsperG@sjfs.org
Marcin Zak Clinical Intern 228 ZakM@sjfs.org
Rebekah Sons Clinical Intern 228 SonsR@sjfs.org
Yu-Syuan Liang Clinical Intern 228 LiangY@sjfs.org
       
Transportation
Call for Transportation and/or Medical Appointment Companion/Advocacy 234
       
Volunteers, Education and Outreach, Exceptional Needs
Deborah Ellis Education, Outreach and Volunteer Coordinator 256 EllisD@sjfs.org